Sarah O’Leary is a writer, coach, and holistic health enthusiast who had a few websites that she wanted to combine into one. After figuring out how she was going to do it, Sarah asked me to create a logo and a header image for her new website, Holistic Hot Sauce.

After reviewing her responses to the logo design questionnaire, I started sketching ideas.

Holistic-Hot-Sauce-Sketches

 

 

Sarah liked the orange flower with petals that look sort of like flames. Once the concept was decided on, I began working on creating the flower digitally, starting with the petals.

 

petal-concepts

Once I perfected the shape of the “flame” petal, I began creating the flower itself.

Flower-Concepts

After finishing the flower I asked Sarah for her input on typefaces (fonts) for the text part of the logo.

font-combos

 

After deciding on the typefaces, we discussed colors.

color-pallet

 

Then it was time to put it all together. We looked at several different configurations.

flower-configurations

 

The final logo:

Holistic-Hot-Sauce-Logo

 

Creating a header happens pretty much the same way. You start with a rough concept…

header-idea

 

…and try different options. Sarah sent me photos she’d taken at home and on vacations, and I made rough header concepts for most of them.

header-concepts

 

I felt the sunset images fit what she wanted to portray the best.

Some more concepts:

header-concepts-2

After much discussion, and many concepts, the final design was agreed on.

The final header design:

Holistic Hot Sauce Header

Here are the matching Twitter background and images for Facebook:

socialmediaimages

Throughout the design process Sarah was working on her new website design. Here is a rough concept I sent her with my design suggestions.

website-concept

Here is Sarah’s final design.

Holistic-Hot-Sauce-Website

