Student Project: Art Festival Poster Redesign

The original poster:

“This poster design should communicate that the festival is about all the arts, not just dancing, and that it is international. No size specified. No specific fonts or colors specified. Include a quote about the arts by someone famous.”

I choose to use the colors yellow, orange, & blue. Yellow & orange are associated with happiness & creativity. Blue is a more neutral color that helps contrast the energy of yellow & orange.

I read through pages & pages of quotes about art & music & writing by famous people, but there were very few that were not clearly referring to a specific art. I finally settled on “Art is not a thing. It is a way.”, a quote attributed to Elbert Hubbard.

Like many creative people, I often look back at my earlier work & see ways to improve it.

I believe my second design communicates much more clearly what the poster is for. The important text is more easily read from a distance. I think the layout is a little more balanced & visually interesting & the variety of arts at the festival is represented a bit better. I also looked for more quotes & added the quote “Art comes from everywhere.” which is attributed to Damien Hirst.

View More Posters & Fliers  |  View Other Design Projects

